To Manchester With Love 

As I’m sure all of you know, there was a terrorist attack in Manchester, UK following an Ariana Grande concert. There were at least 22 killed from it and around 59 injured. This is heartbreaking to say the least.

I just wanted to say a couple things. The first being that this terrorist act was on a female singer whose majority of fans are also female, a lot of them young. I think this is a fact not lost on a lot of us. It makes me sick to think about how all these young people were deliberately attacked. My heart is aching for the families and friends who are all affected by this and the city of Manchester as a whole. All the people who went who survived this attack are now scarred, and no doubt some of them are experiencing survivor’s guilt. Which brings me to talk about Ariana. Putting myself in her shoes, I know I would blame myself. Even though rationally I would know that the blame lies elsewhere. I’m guessing this is exactly how she’s feeling right now; responsible. To have something that is meant to be so enjoyable as a concert get completely destroyed in a hateful attack is devastating for all involved. I can only imagine the emotional toll it must be having on her, the fact that all those people were gathered there to see her and then this happened.

It’s times like these where I wish I could do something to help, but I don’t know what that would be. I can say my heart and thoughts are with them because that’s true, I just don’t know what good that does. I suppose showing solidarity and support even if it’s nothing tangible is a good start, so that’s what I’ll do. I’m so sorry that this happened. I’m so sorry that attacks like this happen much too often, and I know there are ones that we don’t hear about because they happen in countries that the media doesn’t seem to care as much about. I’m sorry for the state of the world right now. I wish there was more I could say or do. Something that could make things better. But for right now what I can do is continue to send my love and thoughts out and hope the people of Manchester and all those affected can feel it at least a little.

Love to all xo

Leave a Reply

