Beauty & The Beast

I wrote a little bit about this film when I first saw it in April. I’ve shared it on my acting Facebook page but I thought I’d go ahead and share it here as well.

April 2nd I saw Beauty & the Beast and it stirred up a lot of emotions, for a couple reasons. The first being, the animated Disney film was a big part of childhood so it felt like a very nostalgic film. Belle is one of my favourite Disney princesses, and Emma Watson was the perfect choice to play her! The second reason was because when I watched it I felt this overwhelming feeling, saying “This. This is why I want to be an actor. This is why I love it. This is why I want to be in the film industry.” It was just this huge reminder of how much I love acting and movies.

Lately it’s felt like my pursuit of this has been put on pause, but I don’t want that anymore. I want to keep moving forward. It’s frustrating when agencies don’t respond though, and it makes me feel like I’m at a dead end, and I hate that feeling. So little by little I’m going to keep pushing forward. Even if it’s just working on monologues for now.

I read a quote recently, that I’m about to butcher, “keep knocking until they have no choice but to open the door”. (I cannot remember who said it or the exact quote word for word, so if you know it let me know) But the person who said this was in fact talking about acting, and I think going after your dreams and passions in general. It’s a good one to have in the back of your head to help you going.

I have more to say about the film and the impact it had on me, but, at least for now, this is all I’ll write.

You should all go grab a copy of the soundtrack that is out, and pick up the movie on June 6th.

Cheers xo

Leave a Reply

