Striving for Authenticity.

Here I am starting a blog and striving to be authentic in a world that’s obsessed with perfection.

Here I am trying to start a blog…again. In the past when I’ve tried I’ve wanted everything to be just perfect, so I’d plan and plan and plan, or I’d put it off for fear of never getting it right. This year I’m trying to be more authentic, and less consumed in perfectionism and the fear of things not being good enough. That doesn’t mean that I won’t try or put work into the things I do, but instead doing those without the constant worry that it won’t be perfect. Perfect isn’t real. Perfection is reliant on perception, and everyone’s perception is different. That’s why I may look at a celebrity and think “damn, they are perfect!”, while they may not feeling that way about themselves.

I’ve started reading The Gifts of Imperfection by Brené Brown (you should all read it) and that’s what the book is all about; authenticity and wholehearted living. So that’s what this blog is going to be about (or at least rooted in those concepts). I’m going to try to post something weekly (at least), but you know what I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t, and then feel defeated and not continue on with it. At least that’s what I’m going to try to do. I’m going to try to give myself some grace, which is very hard for me to do. I’m going to try to extend some of the  compassion I have for others, to myself. I’m going to try to not strive for the ideal of perfection, but instead strive for authenticity.

I have a lot to say about things, and sometimes, a lot of the time, I’m scared of using my voice and then being told to shut up. But I’m choosing this as a platform for my voice to be heard (or read technically), even if no one else reads it. I’m the first to admit that I don’t know nearly as many facts about certain issues that I would like, so bear with me as I learn and educate myself, and find my footing. There are a lot of books that I’m planning to read in the near future but if you have any suggestions for me or informative articles (not the fake news bullshit) feel free to comment it here.


 

So here I am starting a blog. I’d love if you would join in by telling me something you’d like me to address or ideas for posts you’d like to see. Would you like me to make playlists, share poetry or photographs or share a post that you have found helpful? If you’d like to contribute to this blog as well by writing a post yourself just let me know.

Cheers,

Olivia xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

